Newaygo County Mental Health

Board of Directors - Minutes

# April 2015, 2015

The regular monthly meeting, held at Newaygo County Mental Health, 1049 Newell, White Cloud, Michigan, was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Michael Hamm, acting chair. Ms. Hansen opened the meeting with prayer.

# Roll Call

## **Board members present:**

Mary Anderson Gerard Deschaine Steve Johnson Ralph Bell Michael Hamm Marilyn Snell

Kathy Broome Adele Hansen

#### Members excused:

Catherine Kellerman, Todd Koopmans, Albert Steil, Helen Taube

#### Quorum established.

## Staff members present:

Michael Geoghan, Executive Director Jean Shutts, Executive Admin Assistant Carol Mills, Chief Operating Officer

## Public comment - none

## Review/approve agenda.

Motion by Hansen, second by Deschaine, to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes, all; Kellerman, Koopmans, Steil, Taube absent. Motion carried.

## Approve minutes

Motion by Deschaine, second by Johnson, to approve the minutes of March 10, 2015, as presented. Ayes, all; Kellerman, Koopmans, Steil, Taube absent. Motion carried.

## Presentation

Cindy Ingersoll, Adult Services Director, provided an update on the Patient Protection & Affordable Care Act, Medicaid, and Healthy Michigan benefits for the past year.

Mr. Hamm noted that nominations for the election of officers were due today. Anyone interested in becoming an officer was encourage to speak up. Nominations are to be turned in to Ms. Shutts immediately following today's meeting. She will schedule a Nominating Committee meeting and hold the nominations until that time.

# **Director's Report**

Mr. Geoghan reviewed his written report for the April board meeting. He also noted that staff have asked that, even though the nomination deadline has passed, the board consider for the Arthur Wunsch Advocacy Award a clinical staff member who recently passed away unexpectedly, noting that it would mean very much to his colleagues, consumers, and family. Ms. Snell, as the chair of the Promotion &E Committee, recommended that the board approve this and hold the other nominations for submission for next year's award.

Motion by Deschaine, second by Hansen, to approve the recommendation of Ms. Snell and present the 2015 Arthur Wunsch Advocacy Award posthumously to Tyler Slaughter and hold other nominations received for submission for next year's award. Ayes, all; Kellerman, Koopmans, Steil, Taube absent. Motion carried.

Motion by Hansen, second by Johnson, to approve the 2013-14 annual report as presented. Ayes, all; Kellerman, Koopmans, Steil, Taube absent. Motion carried.

Motion by Johnson, second by Hansen, to override the travel reimbursement policy, 1.BOD.120, with regard to overnight accommodations for the upcoming MACMHB spring conference in Grand Rapids. Ayes, all; Kellerman, Koopmans, Steil, Taube absent. Motion carried.

## **MSHN**

Ms. Anderson reported there are three new board members due to recent resignations from Tuscola, Ionia, and Huron counties. A board retreat will be held on May 5 to determine financial infrastructure, risk reserve, and retirement issues. This will be followed by a regular board meeting. DCH has ruled that the three current coordinating agencies be combined into one.

## **Executive Committee**

The Executive Committee will convene May 5, 10 a.m.

## **Finance Committee**

The check register report and cash statement were reviewed. Ms. Mills addressed questions from the board. She reported we will lapse in Medicaid, and GF is sufficient at this time. The compliance and financial audits have been completed. Results will be presented at the board meeting in May.

Motion by Anderson, second by Snell, to approve revisions to 1.PNM.101, Affiliate Agency Contract Administration, and 1.PNM.103, Provider Network Process, as recommended by auditors. Ayes, all; Kellerman, Koopmans, Steil, Taube absent. Motion carried.

## **Policy Committee**

The next meeting will convene on May 14, 2015, 10 a.m.

## **Recipient Rights Committee**

The next meeting is scheduled for May 11, 2015, 10 a.m.

# **Promotion and Education Committee**

Covered under director's report

## **Consumer Advisory Committee**

The next meeting is scheduled for April 23, 2015, 1:00 p.m.

#### MACMHB update

Ms. Anderson noted that bylaw changes will be presented for approval at the next meeting. A special meeting of the Executive Committee will be convened on May 1 to make a recommendation with regard to Mr. Vizena's successor.

Mr. Hamm appointed Ms. Hansen and Ms. Anderson as voting delegates at the spring conference.

## **Board member remarks**

#### Public comment

None

Motion by Deschaine, second by Anderson, to adjourn the meeting at 11:54 a.m. Ayes, all; Kellerman, Koopmans, Steil, Taube absent. Motion carried.

Helen Taube, Chairperson

Catherine Kellerman, Secretary

/js